The science program provides necessary background and skills from which students can become scientifically literate in order to make responsible decisions. The classes actively involve students in problem solving, qualitative and quantitative analysis, and verbal and written communications. But it is also important that students develop an appreciation of science as a process to investigate and discover natural relationships in the created world. This includes a concern for the environment and appreciation for the physical and biological world.

Besides offering typical courses in biology, chemistry and physics, the department offers electives designed to satisfy the varied interests of the students. Teachers encourage debate of moral and ethical questions while at the same time prepare qualified students for science study in college.

Course Offerings

Meet the Science Teachers

Jeff Friesen
Science Department Chair
818.575.9166
jfriesen@oakschristian.org

Dr. Jay Bayles
818.575.9121
jbayles@oakschristian.org

Stephen Hagberg
818.575.9163
shagberg@oakschristian.org

Ginger Paschal
818.575.9138
gpaschal@oakschristian.org

Laura Paxson
818.575.9152
lpaxson@oakschristian.org

Julie Pugh
818.575.9168
jpugh@oakschristian.org

Mike McDowell
818.575.9179
mmcdowell@oakschristian.org

Kiersten Allison
818.575.9110
kallison@oakschristian.org

William Webb
818.575.9194
wwebb@oakschristian.org

Dr. BJ Moon
Electrical Engineering
818.575.9160
bmoon@oakschristian.org

Janell Webb
818.575.9134
jwebb@oakschristian.org

Stan Ng
818.575.9108
sng@oakschristian.org

Jacqueline Holtschult
818.575.9127
jholtschult@oakschristian.org